Faith in humanity…restored.

Yesterday I had an experience I would like to share.
We have all heard the expression, do unto others, right?
I had all my shopping on the black moving piece of rubber whose name now escapes me in the shopping centre…no wait..conveyer belt! The lady behind me whilst having a few items, I noticed they were all multiples of the same thing. 3 Avocados, three packs of the smaller bottles of water etc. For this reason I let her go before me. She asked if I was sure and I was. She went and said thanks after she had paid and was leaving the store.
Cut to me leaving and she is returning her trolley. I am alone with all of my shopping and my receipt decides to high tail it out of there with the wind and escapes the trolley, runs across the crossing and to the other side of the car park. I watch it float away hopelessly whilst weighing up if it was worth leaving my bag and shopping unattended eventually deciding nope so with a single swear word I let the receipt go and continue to my car to pack in the shopping.
I turn to open the boot and there this lady stands receipt in hand and says to me “here is your receipt” I say back “omg thank you so much that’s such a lovely thing to do”. We smile at one another and move on with our day.
This little gesture from this woman who knows nothing about me, changed my entire demeanour. I started to tear up but I told myself I refused to cry in the Aldi car park. This woman would never know my story or what I was battling with inside my head or back at home behind the closed door. She would never know how worn out and tired I am on this day due to nightmares or that I had been up early for a job interview cause I lost my job. I was so taken with what she had done. One of my friends said yes but you let her in front of you so you started the cycle and granted yes I did but to chase my receipt across a car park for me required significantly more effort.
Needless to say I have resolved to do one good thing a day and as above it won’t be massive but it will be something. We never know who is struggling and it only takes a second but like my day yesterday, it could change someones day in ways you never know.
Thank you random lady in the Aldi car park! Thank you for changing a worn out mum’s day for her and restoring her faith in human kindness and compassion.

Leave a comment